Missing Principals: 22 Colleges in Delhi University Operating Without Permanent Principals

By Debalin Roy

NEW DELHI: In a case that is getting stranger by the day, a series of colleges in the Delhi University are presently being administrated by acting principals or officers on special duty. This has led to the university’s teachers’ association demanding proper streamlining of the entire appointment process of Principals.

Colleges such as Hindu College, Sri Ram College of Commerce, Kirorimal College and Kamla Nehru college are a few of the prestigious colleges operating without a permanent principal.

Hindu College is one such college where the position of the principal has been vacant for quite a few years. The official college website shows records of the last permanent principal holding the post till 2008. Other colleges which are orchestrating a similar temporary arrangement include Gargi College, Rajdhani College, Institute of Home Economics, Deshbandhu College, Aurobindo College, Bharti College and Shyama Prasad Mukherjee College among others.

“Numerous posts are lying unoccupied in Delhi University. The whole appointment process has been stopped. We have raised the issue quite a few times, but to no avail. Almost four thousand teaching positions have not been filled for many years,” said a member of the Delhi University Teachers’ Association in an interview conducted over phone.

“The whole schedule of the university has come to a halt. The last ten years have seen zero promotions. In fact, the UGC 2010 regulations have not been implemented by the University, which has led to this situation,” said Professor Abha Habib of Miranda House.

There is also a burning issue of not following reservation rosters in an objective manner – an issue that has been raised continuously for a long time by Mr. Hansraj Suman, of DU’s SC-ST forum.

When contacted, Delhi University authorities have stated that Principals will be appointed very soon and the delay has been due to the retirement of incumbent VC Dinesh Singh and the appointment of Yogesh Tyagi and the transition phase that followed.


Leave a Reply